top of page

Empty the Cages

Empty the Cages was a collaborative project by Dan Witz and PETA, to create a discussion about animal abuse on different levels. While I appreciate the message that they wanted to create, I do want to point out that I don't agree with PETA as an organization. They make millions of dollars in contributions and donations, yet 83.8% of their shelter cats and 68.4% of their shelter dogs are euthanized. With so much money and a 1% adoption rate, it makes little sense for them to put animals down.

The reason why I chose to use their slogan was because my AP Art concentration in high school focused on the lives of animals that are caged away in zoos, circuses, and by ignorant owners who are often deprived of better living conditions and more mental stimulation. While zoos are seen as an educational tool for children, the animals are unable to explore their natural environment and roam around.

I compiled my own photos and created a sketch effect in order to blend in with the black and white drawing I did as a part of my concentration work.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page